Week: 3 Artist Conversation!

On September 10, I visited the Marilyn Werby Gallery with my class. All the arts I saw on the walls were really colorful. The walls were filled with bright colors! From all the arts on the wall, Nature-Inspired Collages grabbed my attention. Nature-Inspired Collages was created by adult disabled students. This project was done to show how nature can be a source for inspiration. The work was done with paper, markers, paints, and crayons. All the collages on the wall were really colorful. Seeing one piece from the whole work, most pieces had different colors. Also some pieces had gradient colors. All the pieces were on top of each other creating a new, collage, art.

From Marilyn Werby Gallery, I had the change to interview Kayla R Workman. After introducing my self, I asked Kayla R Workman few questions. She is a senior at CSULB majoring in education. She told me how Nature-Inspired Collages were created. Nature-Inspired Collages was created by adult disabled students. This project was done to show how nature can be a source for inspiration. The students were encourage to express their art with crayons, paints, and markers on the paper. After filling up the with colors, the student tore the paper. Then the student used their own pieces or other peers’ pieces to create a new art. The purpose of Nature-Inspired Collages was to work with their peers and find beauties within the different art work. From Nature-Inspired Collages, the map of Africa and Italy caught my eyes.

After exploring Nature-Inspired Collages, I thought of my childhood. When I was little, I did similar works with my mother. Nature-Inspired Collages had me imagine what each Collages is. From my perspective, I saw many different forms of the collages. I thought that maybe someone else would have a different perspective of the same work from me. The work really reminded me of my childhood. It is amazing how multiple arts can be create from one single piece.

Nature-Inspired Collages:

20150910_110752

20150910_110806

Leave a Reply

