Week 4: Artist Conversation!

On September 17, I visited Gatov West Gallery. When I first walked in, I was amazed by all the works that visualized horror or nightmares. I am not a big fan of horrors or nightmare but all the works were very fascinating. The artist used oil paint for his painting. All the works had many different colors. From all the colors that the artist used, I recognized the color green and purple which are used often in horror movies and books. Walking around the gallery, I felt fear in every work. From all the work, I was interested in this one work where a person is sleeping on the bed. When I saw the paint, I knew the person was having a nightmare. The position the person was sleeping, the way the person’s hands were, and the mess around the bed showed how the person was having a nightmare. Even though the colors of the painting were vivd, the work was showing nightmare.

At the gallery I had the chance to talk with David Mendoza. He has been studying in CSULB and he has one year left. He worked as a artist for three years now. His works were inspired by horror movies and nightmares. David grew up with nightmare since he was a kid. The nightmares he experienced helped him create his art works. David was able to paint his works because he not only experienced with horror but also because he likes creepy and cool stuffs. I think David was trying the explorer the idea of horror or fear in his works. If it wasn’t for his experience, I wouldn’t have felt the fear in the paint like in his nightmares.

After seeing the paints in the gallery, it reminded me of my fears. I am not a big fan of fears and I do get scared easily. I don’t get nightmares very often but when I do, I really look like the person who is having a nightmare in the paint. It’s amazing how the artist can fully show his thoughts and experiences in his works.

20150917_110452

Leave a Reply

