Week 14: Artist Conversation

On December 3, I visited the Marilyn Werby Gallery. In there gallery there were multiple artists’ works. From many of the art, I gave all my attention to paints that were on the center of the gallery. The work I was most interested was worked with my favorite pastel colors. I think that is why my attention was on them!  The name of the work was “What the World Eats” by Chris Hampton. From the work the artist wanted to show the connection between food and people in the world. Food is like photography giving inspiration and more. It supports our body and minds.

At the gallery, I had the chance to talk with the artist Lourdes Martinez. She her work was on the podium in the gallery. She wanted to show space craft in camera. She zoomed in the space craft so that people won’t know what actually it is. She likes to take photos that are hard to tell. This is her last year at CSULB. She is majoring in photography. She was interested in photography when she was in high school. She does not know what she wants to do in the future for sure but she is planning to intern. She was a very nice and friendly!

Looking at the works in the gallery, I really wanted to take pictures! I always try to take good pictures but it never works. I don’t have my own style in taking picture. I felt that my way of taking pictures is not pretty so I always followed my friends’ way. However, after listening to the artist I thought everyone has their own way of taking pictures and making art. I realized that it is a good thing to have my own views and ways in art.

20151203_111546 20151203_105314

Leave a Reply

